Surprise!!

....On so many levels.

First a new camera.  Yes, I succumbed and we bought a Canon 80D today.  I can justify it!  No problem.  The 6D was very well used, and not an awful lot of clicks left in its bank.  The Rower's 5D III that I used at the weekend is wickedly heavy.  And I just love new cameras.

The kit lens is an18-135, which is incredibly useful for shooting bodybuilding contests.  Last weekend I had the devil's own job because the long lens was too long for wide shots, so I had to keep picking up the Olympus for group shots which was a real nuisance.  The Olympus can't keep up with contest shooting, it's just too slow, and the shutter lag is horrendous.  In bodybuilding you really have to know how to shoot the pose, and the Olympus was a fraction late every time.  I'm not a fan of high ISO and noisy images either.

On another level, I took this image of this minuscule bug, really no larger than the sliver of white on the top of my little finger nail.  I used the kit lens at full extension, and not only did I get the bug, but if you look in large you get the off-spring as well.

I scrolled down the Lightroom panel to decrease the noise, but when I looked closely - no noise!  How good is that. 

So I have to agree that Hobbs is right - there's room in the arsenal for a small lightweight Micro 4/3rds camera, as well as the larger sensor of the Canon DSLR.  No, it's not full frame, but as near as damn-it.

And finally, I can't forget this bit - it's beautifully light and portable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.