Melksham (Thursday 2nd June 2016)

As I was driving over the bridge in Melksham, I thought I saw a swan on the Avon below the weir so I went to investigate. I soon found the swan close to the bank and as I got closer I saw it was with a cygnet. Soon its partner came into view with another cygnet, who swam over to join the first one. I've put a wider view in Extras to show the scene in context.

Having taken 51 consecutive blips I forced myself to skip a day lest I became tempted to go for 100 in a row.

L.
3.6.2016 (0917 hr)

Blip #1853 (#2103 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #2261
LOTD #1087 (#1211 including archived blips)

Swan series
River Avon (Bristol) series
Spring series

Taken with Pentax K-1 and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

Now completed, for anyone interested:
Marwell Wildlife, 23 May 2016 (Flickr album)
A Trip To Bowood, 26 May 2016 (Flickr album)
A Visit To Caen Hill Locks, 28 May 2016 (Flickr album)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Spirogyra - Love Is A Funny Thing (1971)
One of my birthday presents was a CD set called Dust On The Nettles - a journey through the british underground folk scene 1967-1972. I have so far investigated the booklet and on this day played CD1. It was full of intriguing music, much of it new to me or forgotten from the time, including this piece by Canterbury student band Spirogyra. The singer is Barbara Gaskin who came from Hatfield, and appropriately in 1973 went on to join Hatfield And The North led by Dave Stewart. The pair later had a big hit with their version of Lesley Gore's It's My Party.
"Martin Cockerham (vocals/guitar) and Mark Francis originally formed Spirogyra as a duo in Bolton, Lancashire in the summer of 1967. When Martin went to the University of Kent at Canterbury in December 1969 he expanded the band to include fellow students Barbara Gaskin (vocals), Steve Borrill (bass guitar), and Julian Cusack (violin). They were soon spotted by student union entertainments officer Max Hole, who offered to manage them and got them a recording contract with B&C Records. Their debut album, St. Radigunds, was named after the street that their student house was on. It established them as a cult act on the underground club circuit, and sold respectably." - Wikipedia

One year ago:
Caen Hill Locks (more swans)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.