Spreading ripples

I am pleased that this week is over, and that the weekend is three days long rather than two. Monday is the day on which NZ acknowledges that our sovereign gets older every year. Although Monday is not her actual birthday, the first Monday of June each year is the day on which workers used to have a holiday.

I say used to, because many workers now are required to work on "public holidays". Many are not protected by unions these days, often because they are only employed as temporary workers. Previously many workers were happy to work a public holiday as they were paid double time for the day and got a day's holiday in lieu of the public holiday worked; essentially triple time. Because of that many employers also took a holiday, and public holidays truly were holidays for most people.

I will enjoy the extra day of rest, despite it being an unpaid day for me. Locums don't get holiday pay. Right now I need the rest.

I got away somewhat earlier today than I have been, and took a bike ride to Western Springs Lake, getting there just as the sun began its fall below the horizon. I crouched down to get more of the water surface into the frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.