Faithfully Promising

I started the day in Edinburgh with meetings in the Parliament.  I finished it at home well after midnight having driven back from the by-election count in Oban.

In between I had a four hour journey to Oban from Glasgow because of a fatal accident on the A82 which meant the road was closed and I had to divert by ferry across to Cowal and then up via Strachur and Inveraray.

On the way I spent a couple of hours at Glasgow University  which was looking at its best in the dazzling sunshine and warmth  which we have been experiencing for the past few days.

I was there because I wanted to finally get to  the Council of Senate , of which Professors  are automatically members.   The election and the busy period leading up to it in the Parliament had prevented me attending the last two meetings in order to go through the formal induction process which is offered to all new Professors  in the University.  

The oath to which one has to assent goes as follows :

"As a Professor in this University, do you faithfully promise in the presence of the Senate here assembled, that you will fulfil the duties of the office entrusted to you here, in the service of learning as your abilities shall best allow?"

and it does bring home, in its own way, the responsibilities and obligations of the role which I am pleased to be discovering. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.