Today's Special

By Connections

Freeze and Thaw

Wandering around our backyard, telephoto lens ready, I couldn't believe my luck when I saw one of our native Douglas Squirrels crouched on the fence, hoping I wouldn't notice her (see extra) -- or maybe praying.

She remained in that pose for a full four minutes, as I ever so slowly came closer, stopping often to take a few photos. I think it was a case of "If I don't look at you, you're not really there, and if I don't move even a whisker, you won't see me."

Ms. Douglas Squirrel eventually relaxed, looked at me several times, looked over her shoulder to the blackberry bushes, and finally did a quick reversal and scampered off.

What a delightful encounter -- for me, at least!

[Addendum: Phil may well have photographed this same little squirrel [url=https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2185623428281666410]later today[/url]... don't miss that close-up! Still later: I don't know why the link to Phil's blip isn't a direct link as usual...]

Blip 1559

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.