Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

A Summer Ritual

Whoa, I've been away from blip for several weeks! May turned into an especially hectic month between work schedules and numerous performances for both choral and symphony groups. It was a lot of fun, and most everything sounded pretty good. Through it all, there wasn't a day when I didn't think about my neglected blip journal, yet somehow, my photographic and writing inspiration just wasn't there. I decided not to force the issue.

Today, Richard and I performed once again at the Evolve Chocolate Lounge in downtown Bellingham. Evolve is a small, intimate and very "safe" venue for newbie pop performers (like me, not Rich) to dip their toe. Rich strummed his guitar and we serenaded a fairly empty space (it was a stunning evening, after all) with Secret Sisters, John Hiatt, Left Bank, Beach Boys, Everly Brothers, and the like when right at our grand finale came wave after wave after wave of nude bicyclists -- participants in the annual Naked Bike Ride that welcomes in the summer season in a big way. The chocolate lounge emptied onto the street to view the parade, and I quickly grabbed my camera for a few fleeting shots. A fun evening for all! Luckily for the naked bicylists, it was a warm one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.