A WELL EARNED REST!

Mr. HCB was up and out in the garden just after 7 a.m. this morning and I was out there by 8 a.m.  We decided that the rubbish had to be moved so that the garden looked tidy before our visitors come tomorrow, so we worked very hard and didnt stop until it was time for “Elevenses”.  

I had been outside the fence chopping down a honeysuckle and ivy that had invaded our garden while Mr. HCB moved the heavy stuff, so after all that work, I thought we needed a little treat.

I had some millionaires shortbread that needed using by 20th June and as we had expended so much energy, decided that we should use it now before it went mouldy in the tin!

You will be pleased to know our Great Tits keep coming back and feeding their babies - and as we sat watching them and looking along our herbaceous border, I remarked to Mr. HCB that his Mother would be happy to see her beautiful poppies blooming in our garden, which gave me the idea of holding the National Trust mug we bought her many years ago, with the garden in the background, and using this as my blip for today. 

Some days are quite ordinary, but Mr. HCB did say this morning what a pleasure it was to have me working alongside him in the garden again - and I agreed that I was happy to be able to get out there and help - I just need to make sure I don’t overdo it, which is why I am now indoors and Mr. HCB is still out in the garden!

It’s very overcast today and not that warm, but we generated our own heat whilst working and the bonus is that the garden is looking good, as you can see in my extras - but there is still a lot to do out there.

“Gardens are a form of autobiography.” 
Sydney Eddison, 
Gardening for a Lifetime: How to Garden Wiser as You Grow Older

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.