A sociable Sunday

Not us- the fungi in Thorp's Bush. A whole log of fungi. It was very dark in there. Although it was a lovely sunny day, somehow it seemed even darker in the afternoon than when we usually go in the morning. Other than two trips out- one to the market and the other to the bush, we had a quiet day at home. Sat in the sun and finished another Witi Ihimaera book.

Whanau II is  the book that the film Mahana was based on. A film was mooted in 2004 but failed, however it has been a success 12 years later.
I couldn't get the hang of Ihimaera's books when he started writing back in 1974 but understanding them more today. Possibly because I know so much more about my whanau as a result of my family history searches. The people in his books sound just like those I have learned about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.