A shag-gy story

Trev and I went for a short drive looking for my mono Monday photo. I wanted something to illustrate my blip name Riwaka or Riuwaka with its correct spelling. The weather was against us being cold with snow showers. However we did finally get to some tide with a shag diving and what happened- it dived and never did reappear. So I have a shag going under and the ripples it made.
It doesn’t really illustrate my blip name which is a Maori word for the bilge of a canoe. The Riuwaka River has many pools of water that collect such as in the bilge of the canoe or waka.
When I joined Blip I didn’t have any name planned. I used what was then my password for everything on line. (I then had to hurriedly change all the passwords). Riwaka, the place I lived in for the first sixteen years of my life before we shifted into Motueka town only three miles away. We lived on a tobacco farm and as a child I thought it was a pretty good life. I still look back on it fondly. We had a milking cow, chooks and cats. There was plenty of family around. We had a big vegetable garden and fruit trees. A coal range to cook on. We baked every Saturday, made all our own jam and bottled fruit. We spent a lot of time at Kaiteriteri Beach at a family bach. It was a happy place. The number 7 is our postal address number.
You may also see Mrs Happy which is my Journal name. I got totally confused when setting up blip and thought I needed two different names. Mrs Happy is a name given to me by a brother who didn’t like that I was called Mrs Glum by my father from the radio programme of the 1960’s. He said it was because you never heard Mrs Glum. When the TV version came out you never saw her either. Maybe that makes me more like the shag than I first thought.

Thankyou for showing such an interest in yesterdays photos. I had all the pleasure of being there and taking them and you have given me pleasure in enjoying them and bestowing lots of stars, hearts and lovely comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.