Once a motorway offramp

I figure that my circadian rhythms must still be pretty okay as I am waking as the dawn begins. Well ahead of the sunrise, and as the darkness first starts to lift. Whatever the reason for it, I was awake early enough to go out for another cycle ride in my project of becoming a confident enough rider to at some point brave the idea of commuting.

My first target was to get to the new cycle path from Upper Queen Street to Nelson Street before the lights turned off. A new path was created beside and above the motorway heading  south, and then crossing over the motorway with a new bridge to the disused original offramp from the motorway to Nelson Street. In addition to the walls on each side, the modifications have included a new surfacing on the concrete, coloured pink. (I have had to do some manipulations to try and achieve the correct shade of pink [it came out of the camera more red], and I think its nearly right.)

As can be seen when I got there the lights were still on, and the dawn was increasingly bright. My very conservative cycle is parked to the left. Not a speedy 10 or 15 speed machine, it suits me.

I have included as extras two photos taken at the harbour end of the area known as the Tank Farm. This is where large quantities of fuel are stored pending distribution around the city. It was established here when the fuel came by boat. Now that it is all delivered by road, the storage doesn't need to be here, shouldn't be here and is about to be relocated.

The first shot is of the sun just emerging from behind Rangitoto Island with a motoring yacht coming into the Westhaven Marina. The second was obtained just after the sun was fully above Rangitoto, and by crouching and shooting below the rails in the fence at the end of the wharf.

A quiet day otherwise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.