Waiting for the sun

After sleeping a little later than I expected, even by bicycle I was not at the top of Maungawhau (Mt Eden) at the time the sun was expected to rise. However, this morning the low cloud in the east meant that this couple and all the others waiting in various places around the actual summit (not here) and the lower flat space to the north (here).Behind where I was standing to take this photo is the large crater, presently fully grassed. Almost directly south is the peak of Maungawhau, with its trig station. (See the extra for what it looks like at that time of the morning.)

I'm quite taken with the foreshortening which makes it seem as if the Sky Tower is close to the volcanic cone of Maungawhau. In reality it is close to 2 km away.

Although the light changed while I was at the almost top, those who came to see a sunrise left without really seeing the sun, as it remained behind clouds. I joined the quiet descent. 

Rather than celebrating the (non) birthday of HM, I used the time to write up the minutes of my book club, and to start the reading for Council matters over the next couple of weeks or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.