Gillsabroad

By gillsabroad

Garden of Plenty

I love this time of year in my garden. All my fruit trees are heavy with fruit: table grapes, apricots, peaches, figs, plums, apples, lemons and askadinya all just about ready for picking. Across Amman the streets are also busy with street vendors who sell a range of fruit and vegetables from the back of trucks, small tables or just on polystyrene trays at the side of the road. Fruit is plentiful and so much more tasty than the packaged stuff I remember in the UK which, by the time it reached the shelves, was tired from so much travelling. Its an absolute joy to shuffle into the garden in slippers and PJ's for a fruit cocktail or just some lemon for my vodka :)

I'm going to miss my garden...

A tree is known by its fruit; a man by his deeds. A good deed is never lost; he who sows courtesy reaps friendship, and he who plants kindness gathers love.
Saint Basil

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.