The High Alpine Pastures

..... around the village of Pra Gra, above Arolla, are still full of snow. It was not a very auspicious weather forecast to visit this alp but it always takes me back in time to when I was 19 and on my first "Alpine Season". 45 years later I still visit a friend in Arolla. She is now 81 and, shockingly, lost her youngest son 3 months ago. I had to go and see her when I received a memorial card from her. She is quite remarkably together, glad that he died in his sleep and not in a long drawn out process or in an accident. I guess living at 2,000m and having known so many mountaineering deaths of guides and others in her village, she is able to see the big picture.

If you want more views of this amazing village try:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/hilarysview/

Thanks so much for putting yesterday's Muveran mountain on the first Popular page, honoured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.