Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Attack of the Midges

Day two of the final weekend, the next two days are the overnight expedition.  Carrying a 65 litre backpack and climbing is flipping hard work, made even harder by the hot weather as well as the attack of the midges.  We were bitten alive on the summit of Cnicht, and then the cloud cover came in and we were left alone for a while.

A lot more practice of navigation today, I didn’t have any problems, I’m confident in my abilities.  After we’d set up camp, had tea and waited for the day to turn to night, we then went out to do some night navigation training.  I’d never done that before, it was disconcerting not being able to see your navigation bearing, but again I didn’t have too many problems.  My bearings, pacing and timing were pretty much spot on.

This is a view back towards Cnicht, they call it the Matterhorn of Snowdonia.

BACK BLIPS:

Friday - Stunning Snowdonia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.