TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Red hot

Large is good!

My garden is now in its red phase and I have been trying to do a composite of all the red flowers for added impact - but the result just looks a mess so I returned to my favourite image of this poppy.
I think this is the best year yet for the perennial border; well worth all the effort that has gone into it. It was a building site 7 years ago when I moved in. The soil was cr*p (it still is - although with my farming contacts I am getting more manure in there now).
Unlike good gardeners there was no plan when I started and there has been much angst when, having planted something in the wrong place, it has either died or taken over. I think I am pretty self sufficient now and gather seed or seedlings to fill it up the following year - and my 2 cold frames are already full of things I am growing on. Sound anal don't I? Well I suppose I am but I love being outdoors and gardening and photography allow me to be there so I'm going to continue being anal as long as I can!!
Got to cut the lawn now it's cooled down (mustn't moan about the weather).
Planning to watch some Olympics this weekend so need to get everything done before then. Helen and I have tickets for the final of the men's 8 (rowing) next Wednesday morning (woopeedoo).
Canon 1d; 180mm macro; iso200; f/11; 1/125"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.