Lake Ohau

What a superb day. The fish weren't plentiful and it didn't matter. The scenery more than made up for it, along with the laughter.

It's days like this where I feel the tension between my love of fishing and my love of tramping and climbing in the mountains. The latter activities will have to wait until my foot is fully healed.

The day started at -6 in Omarama. It was cold and crisp when we launched the boat but within an hour or so I removed a layer. With barely a breeze it feels surprisingly warm when you're surrounded by cold water and snow. But by 3pm when we got back to the car, the sun had gone from that side of the lake and it was cold.

For the record. I returned a couple of fish, lost several more, and kept one that caught on soft bait. What fun on light gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.