Mono Monday: "Reflections" - Infinite Cameras

This proved much more tricky than I anticipated...

Putting the camera between 2 mirrors seemed like a quick, easy idea. Two hours later I'd managed this shot, such as it is, but had broken one mirror when the wind blew it over! (Happily it was an old one but I'm hoping that I don't now have 7 years bad luck!)

The alignment of the mirrors was critical. I chose to take the shot out of doors in the sun, as I wanted a narrow aperture to get the best depth of field and didn't want to use too high an ISO. But the only way I could get the mirror alignment dead right was to support one of them with my hand so I also needed a reasonably fast shutter to freeze any wobble. Being in the sun, of course, caused highlights on every speck of dust on the mirrors (even though I'd dusted them carefully first!). So I'm regarding it as an arty interpretation of "Reflections"...   ;-)

(In case you're wondering, the grid effect in the top of the mirror is the roof of the house opposite.)

Many thanks to Redflash for taking on the hosting of Mono-Monday this month - I hope it provides as much fun as I had when hosting in April.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.