Derelict Sunday - Unfinished Project...

We're trying to clear out some of the junk in the attic, and I came across this creation which I reckoned would be OK for a Derelict Sunday blip. It's absolutely covered in dust so I'm sure it would smell wonderful if I tried to turn it on (which I won't - I'd have to change the plug to a modern one anyway.)

It's a project which I started in the sixth form at school (we're talking 1968-69 - and the science labs were still using old-style mains sockets). It was going to be a signal generator, to produce radio or audio signals, or modulated radio signals - for testing other projects like radios and amplifiers. Sadly A-level exams, then university, then work and family somehow came along and it got forgotten about, so it was never finished and has sat in the attic getting more and more dusty and derelict. I'd even forgotten I still had it! (I was very efficient though - I'd filed a copy of its circuit diagram next to it!)

You'll see that it used valves, not those relatively new-fangled transistor thingies - and certainly not integrated circuit chips!!

Many thanks again to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday once more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.