"Scrapbook Saturday": Stripes

My “Scrapbook Saturday” challenge for today is “Stripes”. (See here for details of this personal challenge.)
 
So I dug out my old student scarf (yes I’m an inveterate squirrel!). I had the honour of studying at Worcester College, Oxford for the first 3 years of my medical course back in the early 1970s. At that time Worcester was, like the majority of Oxford colleges in the 70s, an all-male institution (happily those days are now long-gone). So I always thought it a little odd that they’d chosen pink stripes on black for the college scarf; perhaps they were in the forefront of the drive against gender stereotyping?
 
Of course, as a “hardy” Geordie I’d expected to be able to cope without a scarf in the relative balminess of an Oxford winter – but in fact winters there seemed just as cold as in the northeast. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that the only heating in a college room was an old 2-bar electric fire and you could almost sense the electric bill mounting up every time you switched it on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.