Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

K is for Koreans

So today the Olympics came to Tyneside. As you can imagine I am not a big Olympics fan. There are many things about the event that don't sit comfortably with me and I'm sure you are all familiar with the arguments so I won't go into them now. That said, I arrived in Newcastle on my way home from work tonight, just as it was chucking out time at the stadium and what a lovely atmosphere it was too. Apart from the odd idiot and contrary to some people's opinions, Newcastle is a very tolerant and welcoming city and that was evident as people from different countries around the world were all chatting to each other when leaving the match.

Today the two matches played in Newcastle were Mexico and SOUTH Korea, (that's SOUTH Korea, not North Korea, organisers take note) and Gabon vs Switzerland. People seemed to get into the spirit things, getting dressed up in sombreros, taking lots of pictures outside the stadium etc. I really couldn't believe that people travelled round the world to see their national team play in what has always seemed to me to be a bit of a naff tournament. But nevertheless you are all very welcome to our wonderful city! :-)

And finally, well done to the transport people. If anything, I got home quicker tonight than usual, maybe because there were more metros and buses on for the Olympics and I didn't have to wait as long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.