Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Giant rubber duck trumps antiques man

Let me explain. As I type, we have a horde of antiques laid out in our kitchen and dining room and an antiques dealer who I'm told is from Bargain Hunt or the Antiques Roadshow or similar advising Diana and Sue on how best to dispose of them. I was going to blip him but having met him and shaken his hand, I'm afraid to say that I haven't a clue who he is so I'm going with my original picture for today, the beached rubber duck. 

I was scouring one of the subscription TV services at 06:00 this morning looking for something to watch when I came across a program called Gracepoint. It immediately looked familiar and yes, it turns out it is a remake of Broadchurch and even has the same lead, David Tennant but this time doing a rather poor American accent. I was curious as to why anyone would feel the need to remake it rather than just show the original and Fox, the creators of Gracepoint provided the answer - apparently Broadchurch was too British! So let me get this right, the storyline is more or less identical but it's set in an American rather than an English coastal town, English is the language used throughout, the male lead is the same in both shows so where does the 'too British' come from? Are Americans truly so insular that they cannot watch a TV program from outside of the US? The mind boggles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.