Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Small Heath

I expect you're getting fed up with butterflies, but this is the first Small Heath I've seen in a couple of weeks, and the first I've blipped. It stayed attached to this stalk for a good few minutes while I tried to get a half decent shot between gusts of wind.

I logged another observation for the Big Butterfly Count: 13 Ringlets, three Meadow Browns, two Large Skipper and just the single Small Heath. I also managed a couple of shaky shots of a Burnet moth which I thought would be a Six-spot, but which the folk over on iSpot think is one of the Five-spot species, which is probably more unusual. I saw the Burnets flying in the same patch last year, but this was the first time I'd managed any sort of picture.

long grass
bowing
in the breeze
the weight
of a butterfly


It's been a surprisingly intense week at work, so I'm looking forward to a long weekend back in the homeland, starting tomorrow. Brace yourselves for a few Welsh blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.