Standing Tall

Dear Diary,

Last night was an historic moment in US history.  Hillary Clinton became the first woman to win the nomination for the presidency of a major political party.  I had to think of my grandmother who saw women finally get the right to vote when she was 29 years old.  She religiously exercised that right for the rest of her life.  What a long, long way we have come. 

My iris are still standing tall this morning in the garden although it might have been otherwise.  A violent thunder storm swept through late in the day bringing golf ball sized hail a bit further north.  Here it was only heavy rain.  St. Francis is surrounded by iris now, a lovely sight.  I've added an extra of the corner of the garden. 


The sun is shining but it is much cooler this morning.  A good work day.   My garden helper will be here this morning and we have lots to do.  No rest for the weary I'm afraid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.