Large Red Damselflies Pairing

I suddenly spotted these in the conservatory, had camera in hand,, and grabbed a shot. A very wide aperture means that only the top of the uppermost one is in reasonable focus, and it was overexposed.

Before I had a chance to adjust the camera settings, they'd flown off. It's a good sign that they're here as I hope for some more insect life around the pond. I just hope they haven't desiccated in the hot conservatory. Perhaps I'd better go look for them.

I assume the male is the uppermost one. He looks more slender than the female, and doesn't have the same markings.

A warm, humid day again. Am working on Len to get the bbq out. I'm taking time out from ringing music. I have, finally, printed out my wedding photo taken in 1973. Scanned it in and printed out at A4 on the Epson Pro 3880. It looks alright.

Coda: a few hours later, I found the male dead on the floor of the conservatory. His colour was faded and his head had turned black. Presumably, he had fulfilled his function and was exhausted when he fell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.