Wide-Angle Wednesday - RVI Newcastle

It's been another busy day so just a quick blip - and unfortunately I didn't have the chance to take the blip according to Bobsblips's suggestion of the theme "nature" (but many thanks to Bobsblips anyway for hosting Wide-Angle Wednesday! - and apologies to other blippers that I'm still rather behind with comments & stars, I'll try to catch up soon.)

I had the pleasure today of attending a celebration of the 20th anniversary this month of the opening of the new Eye Department building (now called "Newcastle Eye Centre") at Newcastle's RVI (Royal Victoria Infirmary). I spent the last 17 years of my career (up to my retirement in 2013) happily working there with a great team of colleagues and other staff and it was lovely to see many of them again. What's more, the whole hospital Trust (which includes the Freeman Hospital in the city too) has recently received an "outstanding" grading from the CQC (Care Quality Commission) - one of only 5 UK hospitals out of the 200 inspected which have received this grading. We're very lucky to have such good NHS services in the northeast.

This blip was taken using my smartphone in "Panorama" mode and shows the mix of buildings in the hospital, from the remaining part of the original building on the left to the newer blocks on the right, the block on the far right being the "Great North Childrens' Hospital".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.