Escargots de Bourgogne

I came across this Roman Snail on Waterford Heath whilst taking photographs of anything and everything in preparation for a nature trail for the Brownies. I wanted to include some ordinary and some less ordinary so I was very pleased to find this as I've not seen one before.

Roman snails are the edible sort. They are quite rare and protected from picking now, so I was lucky to see three, separately. The shell is about 5cm across and they can live up to 20 years.

Tonight at Scouts, the young people were practicing cooking on open fires without utensils, for a competition. I was served some tasty bacon but the egg cooked inside the empty skin of an orange was sadly inedible.

Six of the scouts were awarded their Chief Scout Gold Award tonight and, incidentally, I was invested by Ian Tycer, DC ...about time: I've only been going for a year!! So it's official I'm now on both sides of the fence, in Girlguiding & Scouting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.