Fado in Lisbon

You know when it says, "Choose a photo"? Impossible some days; I know you have extras, and I'm going to put one today, but it's not the same, is it?

We saw this Portuguese guitar player just after we'd been to the fado museum, and he seemed to encapsulate the emotion of fado, oblivious of all the selfie-stick and rosary sellers around him...

The extra is of the table we had lunch at - the one on the left - I was scared to move my chair in case I fell over the edge. We got a local boat for just over a euro to the other side of the Tagus, and wandered along under crumbling, defunct docks, to find this incredible restaurant, perched on the edge of an old jetty - I had salted cod (bacalhau) and chickpea salad - delicious - and got sunburnt.

And now our friend, Gill, has arrived - we've just been out for supper - I had grilled sardines and enough vinho verde to make me fall in love with Lisbon all over again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.