TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Patriotic Window Box

"He who is born with a silver spoon in his mouth is generally considered a fortunate person, but his good fortune is small compared to that of the happy mortal who enters this world with a passion for flowers in his soul." 
~ Celia Thaxter

It's true...I am very happy when I am surrounded by flowers. So much so that I'm convinced that there are folks who might think my home resembles a jungle sometimes. I get that honestly though, I inherited the love of all things flowery from my mom, and she in turn, from her mother.
Just this Spring alone I have acquired two types of begonias, hibiscus, lavender, fuchsia, African violet, a large bowl full of pansies rescued from the sale bin at Lowe's along with the window box blooms pictured here.
I have two good sized window boxes that are installed on my front porch railing, and while I was at the greenhouse shopping for something to fill them with, I settled on a red, white and blue patriotic theme. 
To be specific, my choices were Sizzler Red Salvia, Anabel Blue Hope Lobelia and Anabel White Lobelia. New choices for me to be sure but I think they look 'tres jolie' nestled in the corner underneath the French and American flags that fly there. Liberté, égalité, fraternité & E pluribus unum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.