TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Bird On A Wire

Like a bird on a wire
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free

~ Leonard Cohen, Bird on the Wire

I met up with this little guy today while out walking and immediately I heard David Soul singing this song in my head.
You may remember actor/singer David Soul from the hugely popular 70's television series, Starsky & Hutch.
I can't really say that I was a fan of David Soul but I did purchase his self-titled album and listened to it many times as a teen. As a result of that, every time I see a bird perched on a wire, this song immediately begins looping in my mind. I believe they call that an "earworm."
My little bird on a wire, which I think was a baby robin, was so cute. He just sat there looking at me curiously for quite a while; even graciously allowing me to take a photo or two before he flew up into a nearby tree.
Now, in case you're curious, you can listen to David Soul's Bird On A Wire  (and develop your own bird earworm) here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzOOvuZma4c

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.