JuliaPrice

By JuliaPrice

A lonely rose.

I was in my back garden this morning, having a coffee and mulling over my aches and pains in the humid heat, when I noticed the single rose I've been taking some photographs of had gone, all its petals lost. Not one more single bud ready to burst forth on its single stem.
I admired that rose.
It had grown from nothing.
No-one had planted it. It just started to grow, in a most inhospitable place under a very large tree amidst various greenery that covered this particular patch in the garden, well smothered it really. Yet still this single rose sprouted through, against the odds and blossomed!
I've watched it grow from a bud, it was very beautiful and it smelt wonderful!
I'm a little sad its gone.
I hope it comes back next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.