The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Nasi Kandar Beratur

Possibly my favourite dish is nasi kandar. It's something I've mentioned countless times on here. It's an Indian dish which was invented in Penang and it's essentially a plate of rice (nasi) with a mix of different curry sauces and vegetables/meat/fish which you choose from a buffet of metal trays. The most famous is a place called Line Clear which I've been to many times but somehow I'd not heard of Beratur until now.

It's very famous with locals and has been running since 1943. The name Beratur means to "queue up", a nickname that seems to have become official over the years. Perhaps the most unique thing about it is the opening hours of 10pm to 9am. I arrived at 9.45pm and five minutes later there were about 25 people behind me in the queue. The staff, who had presumably been cooking all day behind the scenes, sprang into action and set up the restaurant (replacing a small stall that runs during the day and confuses some tourists in to thinking it's the famous one). I ordered a selection of mutton, beef, chicken and omelette with mixed sauces. It was absolutely fantastic. I loved everything about it. Food experiences like this are such a big part of my travelling adventures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.