The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Exploring Samosir island

I borrowed a scooter from my guesthouse again and drove around the island for a few hours. It was beautiful, especially the more remote areas. In some villages the locals looked at me as if confused by my presence.

In the evening I met up with Stef (the German girl from the group) and we went to watch some Batak dancing and singing. It was great fun and Stef had to join in the dancing. Afterwards we went to Roy's pub, the most popular venue for Saturday nights. Their live music attracts equal numbers of locals and foreigners. Lots of drinking and dancing, being taught the local dance moves. You hold your hands out, palms facing each other and flex your fingers out in time to the music. Men have freedom to then move their hands around freestyle but women keep to certain positions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.