Arachne

By Arachne

Turning off

I got up early(ish), planning a quiet morning swim, got waylaid by stuff that needed doing and didn't reach the pool till 6.30 this evening. It's striking how much murkier the water is in the evening, especially on a warm day when there've been plenty of people there. As I tried to lane-swim through hordes of excited teenagers I couldn't help thinking about what the murk was made of. Somehow I didn't feel like swimming for as long as usual.

I spotted this in the lake opposite the pool. I guess it's part of a flood defence system, but it amused me to imagine that the lake could be emptied like a bath.

I'm giving up computers in favour of music for the next three days and won't be posting or commenting so I'll catch up next week. Meanwhile, have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.