Abstract Thursday - The Big Picture

The referendum will be underway in two weeks time, with the question ‘Should the United Kingdom remain a member of the European Union or leave the European Union?’  So I thought I’d take a photo of Europe on my gemstone globe with a small amount of faffing for the Abstract Thursday challenge of The Big Picture.

I think both the Leave and the Remain camps have run appalling campaigns, proving information which technically might be accurate, but which show a misleading picture as it misses key facts.  I also do not like the view put across that people voting Leave must not understand the economic arguments or must be racist; and that people voting Remain aren’t patriotic or don’t understand the risks of staying. Nor will the economy collapse if we leave; nor will we have no say in our future if we remain; nor will millions of Europeans ‘flood’ into the UK if we remain; nor will war break out if we leave. There is no ‘right answer’, there are risks in both options; we just need take our own personal view of where those risks would lead the UK over the longer term. Whatever the outcome, I think we’ve all lost out given the way it’s been handled.

Should I stay or should I go now?
Should I stay or should I go now?
If I go there will be trouble
And if I stay it will be double
So come on and let me know
Should I stay or should I go?

The Clash

PS It looks like I’ve got another buyer for my house – to be confirmed tomorrow by my agent.
PPS Please take a look at the cute greenfinch (?) in Extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.