Subbuteo!

I always think positive and on the way to Panshanger Park I repeated Subbuteo to myself. I'm not into football or table top football. The designer of table soccer wanted to call it Hobby but was denied so dubbed it Subbuteo instead after the Eurasian hobby, a migrant bird of prey, Falco subbuteo.

I've seen hobbies at Panshanger before catching dragonflies on the wing and it was my aim today to capture that. When I first arrived my attention was taken by the wealth of dragons hawking the ponds. I peered through the viewing fence and could see no hobbies so continued along the south of Osprey Lake. I spotted my first across the River Mimram so retraced my steps. The fleet falcon made a few passes over the lake and then disappeared. I hung around for the the rest of the afternoon but didn't see it again. 

Even though I was delighted to have got the above shot I was ecstatic when I returned home to see a fox and cubs emerging from under MrQ's former office shed at the other end of the drive as I opened the gate. :) The vixen sat and stared at me as I opened the boot of the car and swapped lenses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.