such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

Oberon and Titania.

We changed our plans for today and went to see A Midsummer Night's Dream instead. And I am so glad we did.

Tali and I decided to queue up for returns and managed to get stall tickets which was great fun. The production was so amazing. It was a modern adaptation but they managed to switch to a more classical approach for the main bulk of the sort and it was really very well done. I'm always amazed how the actors manage to stay in character for such a long period of time - especially with today being as hot as it was. The actress playing Puck was particularly impressive, with lots of running around and shouting, I'm surprised she didn't faint! I've never been to The Globe before, so this production was an absolutely fantastic way to get into The Bard.

I had intended to drag Tali to Liberty afterwards, but by the time we'd finished, I was so worn out we decided to have a quick visit to the Tate Modern before getting some pizza for dinner. I'm not a huge lover of modern art because I find a lot of it is like Marmite. And most of the time, it's not hugely favourable. One piece though which particularly took me was a Lorna Simpson work called Twenty Questions (a sampler). I'm not usually someone to particularly enjoy humanitarian works, but I really liked how effective it was for such a simple work.

Anyway, enough with me being profound. I'm getting hyped for The Shard tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.