Young Bison Calf ...

... at the Trexler Nature Preserve.

I had to run up the Germansville Mill this morning to buy the required 50 pound bag of peanuts that will get us through the summer (I hope!).  They offer the best price (locally) per pound on bulk peanuts.  The down side is they are about 40 minutes away.  Sadly, you spend a lot more time traveling to and from the store than you are actually in the store!

But the up side is that I was able to drive by the Lehigh Valley Zoo and the Trexler Nature Preserve.  I had read in the paper the other day that a bison calf was born on May 19 to the herd that roams there and is cared for by the Lehigh Valley Zoo.  

I really didn't expect to see the calf so I was very excited when I did!  At first he/she was laying in the shade quite some distance away. I took a few shots and then moved further down the road to photograph some of the other bison.  Then I spied the calf on the move.  To my great excitement he/she moved closer to where I was and out into the sunshine!  

To quote Debbi, "Blip in the bag!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.