Caol Shore

First, thank you very much for everyone's kind words on L's High School graduation.


Embarrassment at my own clumsiness stopped me mentioning it at the time.
I broke my camera tripod the other week while trying to clean grit out of one of the clamps. Apparently the brand is no longer imported in to the UK and I got no response from emails to USA or China trying to source a spare clamp. I resorted to bidding on ebay for a monopod of the same make from which I could steal the spare part; probably binning the remains. I mentioned this fact along with my bid and to my absolute delight and amazement the seller also packed the very spare part I needed to fix my tripod. I know very little about the seller (whether he is an enthusiast or a dealer) but thank you for making the time and effort to get me sorted. (Now I have a monopd which I will start using too.)


This shot was taken with the newly repaired device.


It is quite interesting examining the tripod clamps in close detail. Much of the structural strength is derived from very precise manufacturing tolerances and thin cylindrical shims which engage with small recesses in the adjacent tubes. Although absolutely solid they can be dismantled in seconds with a paper clip formed into  a U shape.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.