Espantoso

We had a bit scary (espantoso) evening walk. No, we didn't see a snake. Haven't seen those for few weeks now and I hope it stays that way too. 

Buddha had one of his moods from the beginning of the walk. It all started with a cat sighting and after that we encountered at least 7 dogs. Buddha gets so scared that he gets aggressive. I do pick him up and try to calm him in my arms, but he's like a wire. On the lookout for the enemy. After the first kilometer we were far enough and we had quite a pleasant walk for a while. Walked to the light house and sat there to keep the dogs cool in the shade. And left for home as usual when the dogs got restless. It was about  8:30 at that point. A kilometer from home Buddha started to throw up and then he has a seizure, spasm, like he had epilepsy. (I used to have a cat with epilepsy.) I took him once again so he won't hurt himself on the ground. I knew immediately that he has heat stroke. I started to carry him home as fast as I could. We stopped 3 times for him to throw up. I carried him straight to shower. Cool water first for paws and then slowly with my hand I started to cool his back. His neck felt like it was on fire. After I cooled him with water I dried him a bit with a towel. He was a bit disoriented and his legs were bit wobbly. Rest of the pack were anxious for their supper, so we had to keep them away so Buddha would be able to calm down. I sat with him on the floor, made him drink some water first with a spoon and then he started to drink willingly. Buddha heard the other dogs get their supper, so we bought him a little bit of fridge cold minced meat. Soon he was well enough for me to stop watching him all the time. His neck temperature was down to normal and he started to act normal. He's sleeping now. I'll give him a bit more minced meat in a while.

All day the dogs have been inside excluding the short morning walk and even shorted toilet break at 4 pm. Other dogs are fine as they behave nice. I have no idea what we'll do with that little firecracker who has no self-protection instinct but is active 100% when he's not sleeping. When he walks out he's in action mode. In every cell. All the time. It's danger everywhere. I hope the heat doesn't kill him. He just don't know how to take it easy outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.