TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Florence Isabelle

This rather serious looking German porcelain head doll (circa 1846) belongs to a friend who lives a few doors up from me.  She is 86 and currently writing her memoir and I am giving her some tech support on her computer.  She has written a chapter on receiving this doll from a spinster neighbour, on her ninth birthday. Florence Isabelle is 60cm tall and has a porcelain head and "flour bag" body. She has visited the doll hospital, where she received new celluloid hands and has had two changes of wardrobe. This final one based on the original garb, was made for her thirty five years ago. Sadly she has spent most of those years in the bottom of several wardrobes and has just emerged to prompt the memories of her ageing owner. Because of this she is in excellent condition.  I believe her hairstyle is called "Covered Wagon" style, but I have been unable to find an identical face on line.  I think she must be quite rare and special. I was compelled to take her photo for Jean.
Now, I have no doubt, she is back in the wardrobe drawer again! I rather think her name should be Brünnhilde! She is such a German matriarch.
The extra is full length, but her hands are hidden under the black lace on her sleeves. The focus on neither is a sharp as I hoped.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.