Pond

And the final block is laid. Probably. 

If I were a bricky I'd have been sacked after day one. As a retired engineer I would counter the comments of shoddy mortar-work with the casual truth that every surface is level. And I rather think that's more important.

The pond liner and underlay should arrive this week, although I doubt I'll find opportunity to fit it before we zoom down to the south of France and I trade my mortar trowel for my pool-boy smile and a glass of something cool. Just a couple more meetings and an interview to go, and it's helloooo continent. Shame that we've been preceded by football violence and terrorism threats. I guess we'll just have to be extra lovely.

In the meantime, I'm quite heartened to know the pond wall is complete and I expect the fish in their 1m3 temporary home are too. The new pond is just over 3m deep, 4.5 wide and about 800mm-1000mm deep, with more shallow planting areas in the top left and bottom right corners. The capping stones are a bit pricey, but look like they'll finish it off beautifully.

And still I can walk upright. Mostly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.