Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Portsmouth Harbour

It was grey and wet this morning, but the BBC weather site said the afternoon would be better in Portsmouth, so fancying a trip down to the water, I hopped on a train.  It was two and a half hours before I was able to hop off again - that for a journey of approx ?30 miles. 

Poor old railway, what a state to be in: half an hour later than its boarding time, broken points, broken signal, having to go backwards to try another route round said signal, putting some passengers in a bus, others in taxis, one in a hotel and the rest of us just getting on with it.  But I didn't see much point going back, that really would have been depressing.

Upshot was, I wasn't in Portsmouth for very long.  I shall have to go back pretty soon.  It is a very interesting city.  And what I saw I saw mostly in brilliant sunshine, so that was nice.

This is just by the end-of-the-line station at Portsmouth Harbour.  In the background is the 19th century ironclad, HMS Warrior, and in the foreground rather battered boats.  They are always here, always tipped on end and I don't know who uses them.  Possibly amateur fisherfolk in the harbour.  I picked this shot for texture - to me it has a kind of graphics-y feeling, like it's been drawn with coloured chalk and charcoal.

Yes, I know, yak yak, but that's me done for the day.  Hope your Sunday was fab and that you have a good start to the week, lovely people  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.