A dragonfly over the pond at Matara, Kingscote

Another visit to a National Gardens Open Day took us to Matara near the hamlet of Kingscote in Gloucestershire. It was a good find by Helena as I had wanted to go to another village where I could find a pond where I hoped to see swallows drinking on the wing. This turned out to be even better, with a lovely walled garden area as well as extensive wild gardens and woodlands.

As it happened I saw a few here but my attention was caught by this dragonfly performing acrobatics over the water of the large and pretty pond. I have added a couple fo other pictures of it as it is quite dig=ffiuclt to capture them on the wing.

I have also added a view of the colonnade near to the house, which was also delightful and may well be revisited at quieter times. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.