Holiday House

It's been at least two days since I've been on holiday so today I've come up to the Lake District for my annual weekend away for the Great North Swim. 
I've come with Miss K and Mrs M as normal and we've been joined by Miss K's friends, Mrs C and Mrs S. 
Because there were more of us than usual we decided to forgo the delights of the Travelodge on the M6 and book a cottage for the weekend.
I love searching for holiday houses. I'm convinced the perfect one is always there just waiting to be discovered and I keep looking until I find it. It's rarely the most expensive, just the best one!!
Rose Cottage in Windermere is amazing - my dream house!!
It took a while to get here though. All the usual fun and games on the M6 on a Friday afternoon with lots of torrential rain thrown in! 
We left Bicester at about 12.30 and eventually got here at about 8pm. Uughhhhh!!!! But it was well worth the journey! And we got a mention by Simon Mayo on the radio, woohoo!!!!!
During one of our many stops at the services we went to Waitrose and bought pizza, frites, wine, rice pudding and panacotta and - people far more domesticated and civilised than me prepared it all beautifully pretty much as soon as we arrived! What a treat!
Sitting in the amazing kitchen/diner I was day dreaming about getting our new house sorted, winning the lottery and replicating this house exactly in Buckingham!! There's nothing I don't love about it!
We stayed up a bit too late chatting, laughing and watching TV but we eventually all dragged ourselves upstairs.
Having been swimming once in the last year and done no training whosoever, I will be getting into Lake Windermere in the morning for the Great North Swim.
If I can get into my wetsuit that is!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.