Lineage

To Devon for a family wedding, stopping on the way to collect son from Bristol. One of his Oxford musician mates happened to be there, very conveniently for me as I’ve been wanting to ask him something. Mission accomplished.
 
It was a real treat to see so many of my in-laws at the wedding – they are the loveliest bunch. The longest in-law chain I found was six: me – my husband – his sister – her husband – his brother – his wife. I haven’t seen some of them for far too many years and was struck once again by the very strong family resemblance in the three branches of cousins (generation beneath mine – extra). It’s even true in the  succeeding generation – those I last saw as toddlers were easily identifiable as adolescents. Red hair recessive? Not this lot!
 
After the reception we drove back to Bristol to stay at son’s. His welcoming housemates and their dad (also visiting Bristol from Oxford) were all still up and we spent another two hours in animated chat. A very convivial day; a very late night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.