MONO MONDAY - Something that makes you smile

­­You’d be dead right to guess something which makes me smile  …… 

Yes, Hares and ironically today of all days I saw not one, but two and a Leveret this morning.  I saw the big brown Hare first lolloping along the pavement just outside Bircham, Norfolk, and then disappear into a hedge.  Nothing on the road behind me so I screeched to a halt and luckily there was a small lay-by into which I plunged, grabbed the camera and leapt out of the car in the hope that I might see him again – and there he was right in front of me at the entrance of a small path leading to a crop field.  He jumped back into the hedge so I waited just for a few minutes to see if he would reappear and very soon he hopped back onto the path a little further up so I followed him stealthily and just around the corner a tiny Leveret was waiting for his Dad, perhaps – all too far to get a good photo but I’ve put one in an Extra anyway together with a couple more of the Hares I saw in the crop field.  More Hares, Windmills and boats here.

 

Some other things made me smile today too:  Taking Lily to School, visiting my B-in-L in a Nursing  Home in King’s Lynn and finding him in a much improved state of health than I had expected and although the stroke has taken his speech we managed to communicate the best we could and there were lots of smiles, happy recollections and he even managed to walk me to the door of his room and back into his chair (ever the gentleman) – not many steps yet but I’m sure he will be getting stronger each day.  My sister died some years ago of a stroke and my B-in-L married again to a lovely lady of whom I greatly approve and like a lot so I drove further on into North Norfolk to have lunch with her – we chatted so much and before I knew it was 4pm and I had the long drive back to Shropshire ahead of me.  So we said our goodbyes, but before setting out on the homeward journey I treated myself to another smile sitting on the harbour wall at Burnham Overy admiring the beautiful view and the boats and enjoying the Little Terns wheeling and screeching overhead. 

 I’ve driven many miles today some of which were in torrential cloudbursts, so bad I thought the windscreen wipers might pack up at any moment.  Luckily Hare spotting, lunch with Diana and a last smile at the harbour were in perfect sunshine!  Home very late and now I'm very pooped.

‘Anything that makes you smile’   Thank you RedFlash for hosting today's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.