TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

The Elk Stare

"And while I stood there
I saw more than I can tell
and I understood
more than I saw;
for I was seeing
in a sacred manner
the shapes of all things
in the spirit,
and the shape
of all shapes
as they must live
together
like one being."
~ Black Elk, Wichasha Wakan, Oglala Lakota

The Penns Cave Wildlife Preserve is just a stone's throw away from my house and I drive by now and again to catch a glimpse of the animals that frequently hang out in view of the roadway.
The Preserve is a 1600 acre sanctuary carefully constructed for the bear, wolves, elk, deer, bobcats, bison, longhorn cattle, mustangs, bighorn sheep, and mountain lions that inhabit the premises. Visitors are able to take a 90-minute tour by bus through the beautiful grazing pastures, mountain trails and forests. 
I haven't taken the official tour of the grounds but what I have seen is very nice. On my drive by today I spotted this gorgeous elk, and he obviously spotted me, as you can tell by his compelling, contemplative gaze...and so we shared a few short moments of connection before I had to hop back in my car and head for home.
Perhaps you would like to plan a Summer outing to Penn's Cave & Wildlife Park near Centre Hall, PA. If so, for more information, you can visit www.pennscave.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.