The Wren

By TheWren

On your bike!

Yesterday afternoon I noticed that I had a big hole in a large heather in my front garden and there were wasps busily going in and out of it! I went to investigate further and true enough it looked as if I had a wasps nest deep inside the heather.

This morning, at my request, a man from the local pest control came and zapped the nest with white powder. The wasps were so angry to be covered in the white powder and it was all I could do to take several quick pictures while they buzzed dementedly about me. Initially the shots were all out of focus - I wonder why?? - but as the furore diminished I managed to take this one.

I will investigate the heather tomorrow when I can be sure all the inhabitants have either flown or are dead - I'm sorry any wasp lovers out there, but there are little children next door and two dogs here and I couldn't risk any of them being stung. I am intrigued now to see if the wasps were busy making their usual beautifully constructed nest which consists of tiny slivers of wood glued together with - I think - their spittal. I have peered into the hole but it is quite deep and dark in there, apart from the white surrounds of course!

In Scotland we call a wasps nest a bike - I am not sure if this is the same elsewhere though. Hence the title of the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.