The Wren

By TheWren

Thistle

Thank you for the stars and heart for yesterday's view of the hills, I'm glad you like it as much as I do.

It was a mediocre morning, weatherwise and it was just as well I blipped the hills yesterday as they had sunk into the distance today with layers of cloud covering their heads. Therefore, as I have had my eye on this thistle for a while I decided that today was its moment. Unfortunately there was so much overgrown greenery about it that I was unable to get a good clear image against the grey sky but its purple topped prickly demeanour cheered the day!

This afternoon I worked even harder in the garden as there was one root in particular which did not want to yield at all. Its stems and branches were phenomenally jaggy with thorns so it was, in reality, a brute. I have no idea how long it took me, but I won. I now feel exhausted and have just emerged from a hot soak to help ease my muscles. Unbelievably the day has improved immeasurably and I will be gutted if there is a good sunset tonight. If there is then I will just have to admire it quietly, as I am not going anywhere.

Edit: the sunset was almost non-existent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.