Grateful Days

By Nickimags888

Coot Chick

It brightened up this afternoon after a morning of light rain and wind. I was really glad to get out and down the track in a bit of sunshine after all the dull weather we've been having.
Our road is closed for the week or so as the local electric company (JEC) are putting in a new supply for a new build nearby. There's been lots of rumbles, diggers, and heavy plant making noise in the background all day. The new build is on the site of an old house (La Ligne) that was demolished last year and every now and then things have been happening at the site.
When I went down the track I noticed that someone had been hedge trimming and that the land under the new build site was also being cleared. Well my heart sank as I my wild imagination took control and I could foresee 'private property and trespassers will be prosecuted' signs going up all the over the place. Hopefully this won't be the case as the Water company needs access to the reservoir for water testing and the public use it for walking around the reservoir.

I spotted these coot chicks by the pond the other day and it looks like they're still there. Hopefully they've been able to get out of the outflow area and into the water. The parents were nearby shouting but I think it just confused the poor chicks who looked totally confused! This shot made me think of a paddling toddler with wet trousers and boots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.